35th Vilnius Jazz Festival. 13-16 October, 2022

Brink Man Ship

Brink Man Ship (Switzerland):

Jan Galega Brönnimann – ss, cbcl, electronics
Nya – voc, electronics
Rene Reimann – g, electronics
Emanuel Schnyder – db, bg
Christoph Staudenmann – dr, computer

This group is often called an etalon of Swiss modern jazz. Equipped with live electronics and contemporary jazz vocabulary these musicians take different approach to legacy of jazz. Their compositions with post-modern urban jazz sound, plenty of contrasts and touchy melodic lines, mesmerise audiences thanks to their wide stylistic horizon and musicians’ ability to manipulate quotations and inspirations with precision and humour.

The live gigs and communication with their audience have always been a great source of inspiration for Brink Man Ship. The group’s tour schedule is intense. In more than ten years of its existence, Brink Man Ship toured in almost 20 countries including Canada, Jamaica, Thailand, France, Austria, Germany, Norway, Denmark, Finland and the Baltic States.

The group released five CDs, the latest of which recorded with Norwegian trumpeter Nils Petter Molvaer was released a year ago.

Jan Galega Brönnimann, titled the composer and arranger of international calibre, the leader of Brink Man Ship, works mainly with this group. Born in Cameroon (Central Africa) he is a freelance musician. He is often commissioned by various collectives, DJs, dance and theatre projects. Last year Galega Brönnimann was awarded the Prize of Bern Canton, Switzerland for his achievements in music.

Galega Brönnimann has collaborated with Kenny Werner, Eddy Floyd, William Bell, Pierre Favre, Peter Schärli, Herald Haerter, Roland Philipp and Hans Feigenwinter among other celebrities.

Since 2002, Brink Man Ship projects often feature Swiss vocalist Nya, who has also recorded two CDs with the group.

In 1991, he sacrificed his political science studies and turned to music. He co-founded his first group a hardcore funk rap combo Real Audio Warfare. Later together with jazz pianist and DJ Pierre Audetat and rapper Ndagije Nya formed Silent Majority, which in a short while was joined by popular trumpeter Erik Truffaz and several other musicians. The group recorded two albums, toured in the USA and Europe.

Nya continued his collaboration with Truffaz in recording of his four CDs, released on Blue Note (The Dawn, Bending New Corners, Saloua and Arkhangelsk). For six years he toured with his groups around the world.

The singer also worked with Patrick Muller Escape and Mobile In Motion, appeared in music projects of filmmaker Siegfried, took part in their recordings and finally started programming music himself.

Since 2006, Nya has performed with his Trio and Quartet featuring Galega Brönnimann, Patrick Muller, Larent Poget, Spahni, Christophe Calpini and Alberto Malo. This year he recorded her solo album Rootz Teknowledgy.

For the rest of Brink Man Ship crew this group is the main enterprise, even though they all perform and record with other collectives as well.

Vilnius Jazz'2010

James Blood Ulmer "Odyssey"


Samuel Blaser Quartet




DarkBlueWorld feat. Tony Wilson


Sylvain Kassap Trio


Gyorgy Szabados


Mockuno NuClear feat. Jakob Riis

Lithuania - Denmark

Filipe Raposo


Brink Man Ship


Dainius Pulauskas Group


ACCOsax Freeminded


Vilnius Jazz Young Power 2010

Bon Ton




Yo-Yo Mo-Mo-Mo


Vilkšu Pa Muguru


Vilnius Jazz Young Power 2010 Guests

Tadas Dešukas and "Baisios stygos"